Skip to Main Content
Toggle navigation
Empire State University Library
Menu
Library Home
Find
Resources by Subject
Course Guides
All Library Databases A-Z
All Library Pages & Guides
Journal Search
Biblioteca en Español
Course Reserves & Textbooks
Borrow from or visit other libraries
Alumni Library
Get Help
New to the Library Help
Citing & Citation Tools
Research Skills Tutorials
Get Started & Self-Help Tutorials
Library Workshops
Schedule a Library Consultation
Search the Library FAQ
Graduate Student Resources
Faculty & Staff Resources
About the Library
About the Library
Library Newsletter
Library News & Alerts Blog
Library Policies & Procedures
Your Librarians
Library Request Forms
Empire State University
Empire State University Online Library
SUNY Empire Library Webpages & Guides
Subject Guides
Historical Studies
Help & Tutorials
Search this Guide
Search
Historical Studies
History, from ancient to modern, including American history.
Books & eBooks
Databases
Encyclopedias & Reference
Images, Audio & Video
Journals
Primary Sources by Marginalized Identity
African/African Diaspora/African American Primary Sources
Indigenous/Aboriginal/Native American/First Nations Primary Sources
LGBTQ Primary Sources
Primary Sources by Region
Websites
Research and Writing Help
Help & Tutorials
Essentials
How to Use Databases
Searching
OneSearch
Getting Full-Text
MLA
Chicago / Turabian
Essentials
Get Started
Quick Tour of the Library
Starting a Research Assignment
Assignment Calculator
Get help managing your time, and instruction for all the steps in the university-level research process.
Research Skills Tutorials
Topic Formation
Brainstorm your Research Topic
Ways to tweak and narrow your topic and create a list of possible search words.
Confirmation Bias and How to Minimize It
Video explaining the universal human mind trap of confirmation bias when seeking information.
Search Strategy
OneSearch Tutorial
Brief video tutorial for using OneSearch.
Tips and Tricks: Phrase Searching
How do I
get the full-text
for this article (or book)?
How to Request Full-Text Articles using OneSearch
How to request articles, book chapters, or theses and dissertations if not available in full-text in the library.
Cite and Evaluate Sources
Academic Integrity and Avoiding Plagiarism
Includes a link to an academic integrity quiz.
APA Quick Tips (7th ed)
Quiz yourself on this handout as well! Take a
brief quiz
.
Evaluate Sources for Credibility
Video (3:14)
Evaluate Sources with Lateral Reading
Guidelines on how to analyze a social science article (or social science documentary film)
How to Use Databases
CINAHL Basic Searching
Creating Permalinks (PURLs) To Content In Library Databases
Ebook Central (How to use)
Google and Google Scholar (How to use)
Interlibrary Loan (how to use)
for articles and single book chapters only
JSTOR Images (How to use)
Used to be Artstor.
OneSearch Tutorial
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (How to use)
WorldCat (How to use)
Searching
How Do Find and Use Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources on My Topic?
Introduction to College Research
Open Access textbook covering many aspects of doing college-level research.
One Perfect Source?
Hint: you usually won't find one. Here are tips to help when that happens.
OneSearch Tutorial
video (3:56)
Primary and Secondary Sources
video (3:52)
Reference Mining
video (3:24). How to use the references in scholarly articles to expand your search and find more relevant sources.
Search Strategies (video)
Tips and Tricks: Phrase Searching
<<
Previous:
Research and Writing Help
Next:
OneSearch >>
