Journal Article Databases
- Academic Search CompleteGreat place to start. Full text of 6,100 journals & newspapers with millions of articles in all subjects. [view tutorial]
- JSTOR
Unlike most databases, JSTOR has plenty of content published before the 1990s, but it does not have full-text for the most recent 2-3 years. Articles in all subjects, but especially good for history, area studies, the arts and humanities, mathematics, environmental science, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- SocINDEX with Full-text
Scholarly, full-text articles in sociology, social work, and social psychology. Start here for research about the family, the community, or the workplace. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Articles on communication and media topics, including television and movies, the news, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Gender Studies Database
Articles in gender studies and sexual diversity. SUNY Empire Login Required
- GenderWatch
Articles in gender studies and sexual diversity. SUNY Empire Login Required
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Author is an expert in the field
- Content has been evaluated by other experts
- Information sources used by author are cited
How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Most of our databases offer a feature to limit search results to only articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals. If this feature is not visible on the main search screen, look for an advanced search feature.
More information: Scholarly, Popular, and Trade Information Sources
Subject Guide
