Using the Library with Mobile Devices

​Most library databases will work on any mobile device in the same way they would on a desktop computer or laptop. When you come across a library resource that isn't working on your phone, tablet, or other devide, see below or contact the library for assistance. 

How to use this guide:

• Find the library database or e-book collection you want to use below.
• Scroll down to find the library resource you are looking for information on.
• Visit the links provided to information from the listed vendor to see its current support documentation on mobile compatibility, file types available and Web browser requirements.

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

• The current ProQuest platform has been redesigned with a responsive layout that is designed to be fully compatible with all mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The site is fully-functional and feature-filled to provide the same experience as experienced on the desktop version of the web interface.
• HTML full text can be viewed in a Web browser on your mobile device.
• PDF full-text articles are available. You can download and save them on your computer. Then, you can transfer them to your mobile device.
• You can save any format of an article found in Proquest as a PDF on your computer. To save articles as a PDF file:
  1. Check the box next to the article(s) you want in your search results list.
  2. Click on "...More" on the right side of the page.
  3. Select "PDF."
  4. Make sure it says the Content says "Full Text (citation, abstract, full text, imaged, indexing).
  5. Click "Continue" and the article(s) will start to download on your computer. This may take some time.
  6. You will get a window that asks if you want to "Open" or "Save" the file. If you choose "Open," make sure you save the file on your computer, so you can transfer it to your mobile device.
  7. Once the PDF articles have downloaded, follow the directions from your mobile device to transfer the files to your device, so you can read them there.

• HTML articles should be viewable on your device while using a Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• You can download a PDF article and transfer it to your mobile device. When viewing a PDF file, select the "Save a Copy" icon in the menu (looks like a disc) or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard. This can be transferred to your mobile device if PDF files are supported.
• You can download a PDF if you view the article record in Gale and see the Tools menu on the right. Select "Download," and if the PDF version is available, it will be there as an option.

See EBSCOhost 

• HTML versions of articles are available. Consult your device support to see if it is compatible with your device Web browser.
• Full-text PDF articles are available. When they are available for an article you want, you will see it listed by the article information.
• To download a PDF article:
  1. Click the title of the article you want to download.
  2. Click the PDF icon next to "full text".
  3. A menu should appear in the PDF viewer. Do not use the menu for your Web browser.
  4. Select the "Save a Copy" icon in the PDF viewer window (looks like a disc), or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard to save the file to your computer.
  5. Name the file and save it to a location on your computer where you can find it easily.
  6. Transfer the file to your mobile device to read it in a PDF reader, if available. Consult your device support for more information on transferring the document and viewing it on your device.

See EBSCOhost 

• Annual Reviews has a mobile site. When you access it through the link on the SUNY Empire library webpage while using a mobile device, you will see an orange link at the top of the page that says, "View Mobile Site." This will allow you to use its mobile site with authentication from the university to access full-text articles, when available. Click "View Full Site" to return to the main site of the Annual Reviews database. You also can use the full site on many mobile devices.
• PDF full text is available for many articles. If you prefer to access the article on your computer and download it, then transfer it to your mobile device, follow these steps:
  1. Click the title of the article you want to download.
  2. Click the PDF link. A menu will appear on the article itself.
  3. Select the "Save a Copy" icon in the PDF viewer window (looks like a disc), or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard to save the file to your computer.
  4. Name the file and save it to a location on your computer where you can find it easily.
  5. Transfer the file to your mobile device to read it in a PDF reader, if available.
  6. Consult your device support for more information on transferring the document and viewing it on your device.

• You can access full-text PDF articles by accessing this through the link on the SUNY Empire library webpage on your mobile device. When you find an article, click "Full Access PDF" and your mobile device PDF reader will open the article. If you prefer to transfer the article from your computer, follow these directions.
  1. Click the title of the article you want to download.
  2. Click "Full Access PDF;" a menu will appear on the article itself.
  3. Select the "Save a Copy" icon in the PDF viewer window (looks like a disc) or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard to save the file to your computer.
  4. Name the file and save it to a location on your computer where you can find it easily.
  5. Transfer the file to your mobile device to read it in a PDF reader, if available.
  6. Consult your device support for more information on transferring the document and viewing it on your device.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• This database can be viewed only in a Web browser. Consult your device support to check for compatibility.

• HTML articles should be viewable on your device while using a Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• You can download a PDF article and transfer it to your mobile device. When viewing a PDF file, select the "Save a Copy" icon that appears in the pop-up menu (looks like a disc) or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard. This can be transferred to your mobile device, if PDF files are supported.
• You can download a PDF article if you view the article record in Gale and see the Tools menu on the right. Select "Download," and if the PDF version is available, it will be there as an option.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• Ebook Central is designed with mobile in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download ebooks for offline reading.
• PDF files of e-book chapters or pages can be downloaded. For information on how to do this, visit their Support Page (click Download for this topic). 

• EBSCOHost has an app that works on most devices. For more information and to download this free app, visit The EBSCO Mobile App - Frequently Asked Questions. You will need to take steps to verify your access through SUNY Empire State University. Directions for how to do this are provided by EBSCOHost.
• HTML articles should be viewable in your mobile device Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• PDF files of articles can be downloaded by following these steps:
  1. Search for an article in an EBSCOHost database. If the article is available in PDF format, you will see a PDF full-text link with an icon listed below the article information. If viewing the article record, you will see the PDF full text and icon on the left side of the screen.
  2. Click "PDF Full Text" and the article will open in a PDF viewer window.
  3. Name the file and save it to a location on your computer where you can find it easily. Select the "Save a Copy" icon in the PDF viewer window (looks like a disc) or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard to save the file to your computer.
  4. You then can transfer the file to your mobile device to read it in a PDF reader, if available. Please consult your device support for more information on transferring the document and viewing it on your device.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• The current ProQuest platform has been redesigned with a responsive layout that is designed to be fully compatible with all mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The site is fully-functional and feature-filled to provide the same experience as experienced on the desktop version of the web interface.
• PDF full-text articles are available. You can download and save them on your computer. Then, you can transfer them to your mobile device.
• HTML full text can be viewed in a Web browser on your mobile device.
• You can save any format of an article found in Proquest as a PDF on your computer. To save articles as a PDF file:
  1. Check the box next to the article(s) you want in your search results list.
  2. Click on "...More" on the right side of the page.
  3. Select "PDF."
  4. Make sure it says the Content says "Full Text (citation, abstract, full text, imaged, indexing).
  5. Click "Continue" and the article(s) will start to download on your computer. This may take some time.
  6. You will get a window that asks if you want to "Open" or "Save" the file. If you choose "Open," make sure you save the file on your computer, so you can transfer it to your mobile device.
  7. Once the PDF articles have downloaded, follow the directions from your mobile device to transfer the files to your device, so you can read them there.

• Videos play when viewed in a compatible Web browser. Consult your mobile device support for more information.

• HTML articles should be viewable on your device while using a Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• You can download a PDF article and transfer it to your mobile device. When viewing a PDF file, select the "Save a Copy" icon that appears in the pop-up menu (looks like a disc), or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard. This then can be transferred to your mobile device, if PDF files are supported.
• You can download a PDF if you view the article record in Gale and see the Tools menu on the right. Select "Download" and if the PDF version is available, it will be there as an option.

• To download a PDF version of an article from Gale Virtual Reference Library, you have two options. You can view the article and then click "Download" on the menu above the article, or you can click "Download PDF to eReader" and this will download the article for you. This can be transferred to your mobile device, if PDF files are supported.
• MP3 files of the articles also can be downloaded. You can download and listen to the MP3 version of an article by clicking "Download MP3" on the menu above the article.
• You can visit Gale Virtual Reference Library through the library webpage. All items should be viewable in a Web browser. Consult your mobile device support for more information.

See EBSCOhost 

• HTML articles should be viewable on your device while using a Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• You can download a PDF and transfer it to your mobile device. When viewing a PDF, select the "Save a Copy" icon that appears in the pop-up menu (looks like a disc) or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard. This then can be transferred to your mobile device, if PDF files are supported.
• You also can download a PDF if you view the article record in Gale and see the Tools menu on the right. Select "Download" and if the PDF version is available, it will be there as an option.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• HTML articles should be viewable in your mobile device Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• PDF articles can be downloaded by viewing the article in Info-Sci Online. When viewing the article, select "Full Text PDF." You have two options to download the PDF file. When viewing a PDF file, you can select the "Save a Copy" icon that appears in the menu (looks like a disc), or click "Download PDF" when viewing the article in the database. This then can be transferred to your mobile device if PDF files are supported. Consult your device support for information on how to transfer files.

• Access to JSTOR is only available through a Web browser. You can access it through the library webpage on your mobile device. Consult your device's support for more information.
• HTML articles should be viewable in your mobile device Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• PDF articles can be downloaded on your computer and transferred to your mobile device. View the article you want and click "View PDF" in the menu above the article. You will be asked to agree to the JSTOR terms and conditions. Accept these conditions.When the PDF file is done loading, you can choose to save the file on your computer. This then can be transferred to your mobile device, if PDF files are supported. Consult your device support for information on how to transfer files.

• Some items are available in PDF file format. When you find an article you want, click the title. When viewing the article, if PDF format is available, you will see it listed at the top, below the article title. Click this link to download the PDF file. You then can transfer the article to your mobile device. Consult your mobile device support for more information.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• HTML articles should be viewable on your device while using a Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• You can download a PDF article and transfer it to your mobile device. When viewing a PDF file, select the "Save a Copy" icon that appears in the pop-up menu (looks like a disc). This then can be transferred to your mobile device if PDF files are supported.
• You can also download a PDF article if you view the article record in Gale and see the Tools menu on the right. Select Download and if the PDF version is available, it will be there as an option.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• HTML articles should be viewable on your device while using a Web browser. Consult the support for your mobile device.
• You can download a PDF article and transfer it to your mobile device. When viewing a PDF file, select the "Save a Copy" icon that appears in the pop-up menu (looks like a disc), or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard. This then can be transferred to your mobile device, if PDF files are supported.
• You also can download a PDF article if you view the article record in Gale and see the Tools menu on the right. Select "Download" and if the PDF version is available, it will be there as an option.

• The current ProQuest platform has been redesigned with a responsive layout that is designed to be fully compatible with all mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The site is fully-functional and feature-filled to provide the same experience as experienced on the desktop version of the web interface.
• HTML full text can be viewed in a Web browser on your mobile device.
• PDF full-text articles are available. You can download and save them on your computer. Then, you can transfer them to your mobile device.
• You can save any format of an article found in Proquest as a PDF on your computer. To save articles as a PDF file:
  1. Check the box next to the article(s) you want in your search results list.
  2. Click on "...More" on the right side of the page.
  3. Select "PDF."
  4. Make sure it says the Content says "Full Text (citation, abstract, full text, imaged, indexing).
  5. Click "Continue" and the article(s) will start to download on your computer. This may take some time.
  6. You will get a window that asks if you want to "Open" or "Save" the file. If you choose "Open," make sure you save the file on your computer, so you can transfer it to your mobile device.
  7. Once the PDF articles have downloaded, follow the directions from your mobile device to transfer the files to your device, so you can read them there.

See EBSCOhost 

• Lexis Nexis can be opened and searched in the web browser on a mobile device but please note that it does not currently display full records correctly.  If you need to view a full record or article from Lexis Nexis, please access it on a computer or laptop.

• Access to North American Women's Letters and Diaries is only available through a Web browser. You can access it through the library webpage on your mobile device. Consult your device's support for more information.

• Access to Opposing Viewpoints in Context is only available through a Web browser. You can access it through the library webpage on your mobile device. Consult your device's support for more information.

• The current ProQuest platform has been redesigned with a responsive layout that is designed to be fully compatible with all mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The site is fully-functional and feature-filled to provide the same experience as experienced on the desktop version of the web interface.
• PDF full-text articles are available. You can download and save them on your computer. Then, you can transfer them to your mobile device.
• HTML full text can be viewed in a Web browser on your mobile device. Consult your device support for details.

• You can save any format of an article found in Proquest as a PDF on your computer. To save articles as a PDF file:
  1. Check the box next to the article(s) you want in your search results list.
  2. Click on "...More" on the right side of the page.
  3. Select "PDF."
  4. Make sure it says the Content says "Full Text (citation, abstract, full text, imaged, indexing).
  5. Click "Continue" and the article(s) will start to download on your computer. This may take some time.
  6. You will get a window that asks if you want to "Open" or "Save" the file. If you choose "Open," make sure you save the file on your computer, so you can transfer it to your mobile device.
  7. Once the PDF articles have downloaded, follow the directions from your mobile device to transfer the files to your device, so you can read them there.

• The current ProQuest platform has been redesigned with a responsive layout that is designed to be fully compatible with all mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The site is fully-functional and feature-filled to provide the same experience as experienced on the desktop version of the web interface.
• PDF full-text articles are available. You can download and save them on your computer. Then, you can transfer them to your mobile device.
• HTML full-text can be viewed in a Web browser on your mobile device. Consult your device support for details.
• You can save any format of an article found in Proquest as a PDF on your computer. To save articles as a PDF file:
  1. Check the box next to the article(s) you want in your search results list.
  2. Click on "...More" on the right side of the page.
  3. Select "PDF."
  4. Make sure it says the Content says "Full Text (citation, abstract, full text, imaged, indexing).
  5. Click "Continue" and the article(s) will start to download on your computer. This may take some time.
  6. You will get a window that asks if you want to "Open" or "Save" the file. If you choose "Open," make sure you save the file on your computer, so you can transfer it to your mobile device.
  7. Once the PDF articles have downloaded, follow the directions from your mobile device to transfer the files to your device, so you can read them there.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• PDF articles can be downloaded on your computer and transferred to your mobile device. When you find an article you want, click "Full Text PDF" below the listing. In the PDF reader, select the "Save a Copy" icon (looks like a disc) or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard and save the article on your computer. This then can be transferred to your mobile device, if PDF files are supported. Consult your device support for information on how to transfer files.

• ScienceDirect can be accessed on most mobile devices. Go to the library website and access it from there. Please consult your device support for more information.
• HTML articles should be viewable on your mobile device Web browser. Please consult your device support for more information.
• PDF articles can be downloaded on your computer and then transferred to your mobile device to read. In order to do this, follow these steps:
  1. View the article you want to download in ScienceDirect on your computer.
  2. Click "PDF" on the upper-left side of the page. This will open the article in your PDF reader.
  3. In the PDF reader, select the "Save a Copy" icon (looks like a disc), or press Shift+Ctrl+S on your keyboard and save the article on your computer.
  4. Follow directions for your mobile device to transfer the article.

See EBSCOhost 

See EBSCOhost 

• The e-book collection from Springer can be accessed on most mobile devices. Go to the library website and access it from there. Please consult your device support for more information.
• HTML e-book format can be viewed in a Web browser.
• PDF e-book format can be downloaded on a computer and transferred to your mobile device, or you may be able to download it directly from Springer when accessing it in your device's browser. Please consult your device support for more information.

See EBSCOhost 

• The current ProQuest platform has been redesigned with a responsive layout that is designed to be fully compatible with all mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The site is fully-functional and feature-filled to provide the same experience as experienced on the desktop version of the web interface.
• PDF full-text articles are available. You can download and save them on your computer. Then, you can transfer them to your mobile device.
• HTML full-text articles can be viewed in a Web browser on your mobile device.
• You can save any format of an article found in Proquest as a PDF on your computer. To save articles as a PDF file:
  1. Check the box next to the article(s) you want in your search results list.
  2. Click on "...More" on the right side of the page.
  3. Select "PDF."
  4. Make sure it says the Content says "Full Text (citation, abstract, full text, imaged, indexing).
  5. Click "Continue" and the article(s) will start to download on your computer. This may take some time.
  6. You will get a window that asks if you want to "Open" or "Save" the file. If you choose "Open," make sure you save the file on your computer, so you can transfer it to your mobile device.
  7. Once the PDF articles have downloaded, follow the directions from your mobile device to transfer the files to your device, so you can read them there.