Find Full-text Articles
OneSearch - the search box on the library home page, it searches across almost all of the library's collections at once.
Discipline-Specific Databases - search for article usually within a specific discipline.
E-Journals A - Z - search for a specific journal or other periodical (articles are then inside these journals).
The Online Library does not have the full-text of every article in our databases. Most of the databases are a mix of full-text articles and citation/abstract information.
If you cannot find the full-text article available online in the library, you have several options:
- You can use interlibrary loan for articles and book chapters (electronic delivery only).
- As a SUNY Empire State College student or faculty member, you can use the libraries of most any SUNY, CUNY or New York state community college. You may need to present your Empire State College photo ID to take books out. You may or may not be able to get a guest login to use their databases. For more information, go to SUNY Open Access Borrowing.
- Some scholarly articles can be accessed, sometimes for a fee, using How To Use Google and Google Scholar.
- Most public libraries offer interlibrary loan. If your local public library offers this service, get a borrower's card and you will be able to request books and articles from other libraries. For more information, go to Locate Libraries Near You.
- You may be able to locate an online book, or chapter from an online book, using Google Books.
- Books that aren't available any other way may be obtained cheaply from online vendors who deal in used books. You can use Google Product Search to identify the cheapest source. TIP: Put the book's title in quotation marks.