SUNY Empire Online Library Resources
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextPro and con essays, articles, and primary sources on controversial issues.
- EBSCO eBooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies CollectionA collection with thousands of e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
- Ethnic NewsWatchArticles from journals, newspapers, and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses.
- Anti-Racism GuideThis collection of reading, viewing, and listening material – while not nearly complete – provides a starting point for gaining a deeper understanding of this nation’s difficult racial history.
- SUNY Empire OneSearch Black History Month listA list of search results in OneSearch, which searches most of the online library collections. This list includes articles, ebooks, videos, and more.
- Black History videos from Films on DemandA list of search results for videos or video clips relating to Black History, Black Art history, Black Music history, and more from our Films on Demand collection.
- Black History resources from Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA list of resources, encyclopedia entries, and book chapters relating to Black History.
- Ebook Central list of ebooks related to African American HistoryThis is a list of search results for African American History in Ebook Central, our largest ebook collection.
- Ebook Central list of ebooks related to Black HistoryThis is a list of search results for Black History in Ebook Central, our largest ebook collection.
Reliable Free Online Resources
- 13 Ways to Celebrate Black History MonthFrom Scholastic. Explore exceptional African American achievements with these cross-curricular activities for grades 3-12.
- 35 Inspiring, Joyful and Moving Movies You Should Stream for Black History MonthA list of movies available via streaming services Hulu, Netflix and Amazon Prime from Parade
- African-American Studies Guidefrom the Library of Congress
- African American History Month websiteFrom The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States from ProquestA site featuring expertly selected open primary source documents. Visitors will find historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.
- Black History Month: A Number of Firststimeline of selected “first achievers” in U.S. Black history
- PBS Black Culture ConnectionExplore Black history and culture though films, stories, and voices across public media.
Librarian
Heather Shalhoub
She/Her
Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222
Ask a Librarian - Chat 24/7, online contact form, and FAQ
Normal Hours
Sun-Thu: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Summer Hours
July - August:
Mon-Thu: 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from the Ask Us 24/7 consortium are available to help any time via chat when Ask a Librarian is closed.
Website
Ask a Librarian - Chat 24/7, online contact form, and FAQ
Normal Hours
Sun-Thu: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Summer Hours
July - August:
Mon-Thu: 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from the Ask Us 24/7 consortium are available to help any time via chat when Ask a Librarian is closed.
Please note:
If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability for library content needed for your coursework, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
Subjects: Science, Mathematics & Technology
