Search all our text databases at once
Journal Article Databases For All Science Topics
Below are multidisciplinary databases that contain science content, among other topics.
- Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles in all subjects. SUNY Empire Login Required
- JSTOR
Unlike most databases, JSTOR has plenty of content published before the 1990s, but it does not have full-text for the most recent 2-3 years. Articles in all subjects, but especially good for history, area studies, the arts and humanities, mathematics, environmental science, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ProQuest (all of the ProQuest databases)
Select two or more ProQuest databases to search at the same time. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Sage Journals
Scholarly articles in all subjects. Particularly good in business, biology/medicine, engineering, and the social sciences.
We do not have access to full-text for all Sage journals. Limit your search to "Only Content I Have Full Access To." You can also access “Open Access” content in Sage. SUNY Empire Login Required
Below are science databases
- Proquest Science Database
Journal articles on subjects including General science, Materials science, Aerospace, Engineering, Computers, Physics, Telecommunications, Transportation, and Military. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ScienceDirect
Full-text access to 248 journals. Please also check Google Scholar if you cannot find full-text in ScienceDirect. SUNY Empire Login Required
What are scholarly/peer reviewed articles?
In scholarly/peer reviewed articles:
- Author is an expert in the subject
- Content is evaluated by other experts before publication
- All information sources are cited
Some databases have all scholarly material. Others have an option to search for only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleInteractive web site lets you look at different parts of a scholarly article so that you can recognize one when you see one, and know how to take it apart for meaning. From North Carolina State University.
Your Librarian
