Video Introduction
More Annotated Bibliography Info & Examples
- How to Prepare an Annotated BibliographyBrief overview with sample entries.
- Purdue Owl: Annotated BibliographiesDefinitions, format, examples and samples.
- The Writer's HandbookUniv. of Wisconsin site on format, content & writing style.
Basics
What is an Annotated Bibliography? (brief video)
Writing an Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography is an organized list of citations (sources such as books, articles, and other materials) relating to a specific topic where each citation is followed with a brief descriptive note or "annotation." The citations are formatted in a specific citation style, such as APA or MLA (your instructor should indicate the style they want you to use). The annotations in your bibliography can:
- describe the book or article's content
- demonstrate the book or article's relevance to your research
- discuss the reliability or validity of the book or article's content
- present your reactions to the book or article's content
Several excellent online tutorials are available to help you arrange, write and format your annotated bibliography. Refer to your assignment instructions (or your instructor) as to what exactly should be included in each annotation.
It can be helpful to review samples of existing annotated bibliographies, too. Remember, however, to follow the style and format that your instructor has indicated in your assignment.
- Sample Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue University)
- Sample Critical and Descriptive Annotations (University of Newfoundland)
Thanks to Susan Hollis for sharing information for this page.
Subject Guide
Dana Longley
Contact:
Normal Hours
Sun: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Mon-Thu: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Summer Hours
July-Aug: Mon-Thu: 12 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Phone: 800-847-3000, ext. 2222.
or check our knowledgebase or submit a question via online form.
Sun: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Mon-Thu: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Summer Hours
July-Aug: Mon-Thu: 12 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Phone: 800-847-3000, ext. 2222.
or check our knowledgebase or submit a question via online form.
Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Accessibility Resources and Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@sunyempire.edu. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
