LibGuides: History: Encyclopedias, Etc.

Reference Databases

Encyclopedias and other reference works provide background information for your research. In general, you do not cite them in your paper.

Click here for more information on using reference materials to get started with your research.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Pro and con essays, articles and primary sources on controversial issues. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Help using Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Help creating a permalink in Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Biography Reference Source
Biographical information on notable people, both historical and contemporary. SUNY Empire Login Required

Selected History Reference Ebooks

Afghanistan Declassified: A Guide to America's Longest War
American Civil War Reference Library
American Decades
American Decades Primary Sources
American History through Literature: 1820-1870
By Janet Gabler-Hover and Robert Sattelmeyer.
American History through Literature: 1870-1920
By Tom Quirk and Gary Scharnhorst.
American Revolution Reference Library
By Barbara Bigelow, Stacy A. McConnell, and Linda Schmittroth.
Americans At War
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England
Collingwood's The Idea of History: A Reader's Guide
Companion to American Immigration
Edited by Reed Ueda.
Companion to Global Historical Thought
Companion to Mediterranean History
Companion to the Era of Andrew Jackson
Companion to the French Revolution
Companion to Women in the Ancient World
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict: Culture, History and Politics
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
Colin A. Palmer, editor in chief.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
Edited by Dinah L. Shelton.
Encyclopedia of India
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
Edited by Marc Stein.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
By Frederick E. Hoxie.
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History
Edited by Aaron Brenner, Benjamin Day, and Immanuel Ness.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military History
Edited by Harold E. Selesky.
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
Edited by Robert S. McElvaine.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Encyclopedia of the New American Nation
Paul Finkelman, editor in chief
A Short History of U. S. Interventions in Latin America and the Caribbean : A Short History
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Thomas Benjamin, editor in chief.
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Edited by John Merriman and Jay Winter.
Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
John Merriman and Jay Winter, editors in chief.
Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Historic Events for Students: The Great Depression
Edited by Richard C. Hanes and Sharon M. Hanes.
History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide
Edited by Sonia G. Benson, Nancy Matuszak, and Meghan Appel O'Meara.
History of World Trade Since 1450
Edited by John J. McCusker.
Hutchinson Dictionary of World History
Landmarks of the American Revolution: Library of Military History
Edited by Mark M. Boatner, III.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz.
People's Chronology: A Year-by-Year Record of Human Events from Prehistory to the Present
By James Trager.
St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide
World Fascism: A Historical Encyclopedia
Edited by Cyprian P. Blamires, with Paul Jackson.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

History Reference on the Web

Contact Us

Search our FAQ or fill out the contact form
Email your question.
Call 800-847-3000, ext. 2222
Text: 518-623-6321 (SMS only, no phone calls or images. Standard messaging rates apply.)

History: Encyclopedias, Etc.

Reference Databases

Selected History Reference Ebooks

History Reference on the Web

Contact Us

SpringShare Privacy Policy