Search Tools
Search Tip: broad phrases, especially one such as "human services," may not always work when searching because it's an umbrella term. Consider using one or more specific professions or industries within human services instead, such as counseling, "child welfare" or "social work." To find information on stress in human services, try a variety of searches combining stress with names of specific professions. Example: stress and "social work"
- OneSearchSearch most collections at once. "Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed" limit option is on the results page. [OneSearch helpful tips video]
- Statistics & Data SourcesPortals for finding statistical info & data sets, such as Statista, and those content from the Census Bureau, HHS, other gov't & non-governmental orgs.
- Education SourceCovers all levels of education: early childhood to higher ed, and specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Healthcare Administration DatabaseFind information on health & hospital administration.
- NIDA International Drug Abuse Research Abstract Database This link opens in a new window Search for abstracts of presentations from meetings hosted or supported by the NIDA International Program between 2003 and the present, or browse all abstracts.
- PsycARTICLESPsychology journals database.
- SocINDEX with Full-textScholarly, full-text articles in sociology, social work, and social psychology.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextPro/con, academic, popular, and reference articles on variety of social issues.
- Social Science & Humanities Library Collection
1480+ scholarly Taylor & Francis journals (millions of full-text articles) from 1997 to present. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Social Science Research Network eLibrary Database SearchOver 606,900 abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, and over 504,500 downloadable full text scholarly articles.
- Social Sciences with Full-text
Full-text scholarly articles about social science concepts and methods. SUNY Empire Login Required
Accessibility Note
Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Accessibility Resources and Services by emailing them. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
How to Start
To better understand (and write about) a research topic, and to effectively search the literature, you should first determine and define the main concepts involved. Find an encyclopedia or Wikipedia entry on that concept (this is called "background reading". Example Wikipedia article on Human Services). You don't normally use this as a source in your academic writing, but it will give you an historical context (how has the thing, theory, or technology evolved over time?, what people, laws and policies are involved?). This will also help you find the correct terminology for searching the scholarly literature. Once you have a handle on your concept(s), you'll be better equipped to search the journal, book and other literature, using the "Search Tools" section to the left.
Contact Us
-
Email your question.
-
Call 800-847-3000, ext. 2222
-
Text: 518-623-6321 (SMS only, no phone calls or images. Standard messaging rates apply.)
![X](https://sunyempire.edu/media/images/home/2019/iconmonstr-twitter-3.png"){kind=small}
