Search all our text databases at once
Journal Article Databases
- Building and Fire PublicationsReports and articles about building and fire safety, from the U.S. government office, the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- University of Delaware Disaster Research CenterPublications on social and behavioral aspects of disaster.
- Earthquake Engineering Research Institute Mitigation Center DatabaseInformation on ways to reduce losses from earthquakes.
- FEMA LibrarySearchable web-based collection of all publicly accessible FEMA information resources.
- NFPA Codes & Standards (free edition)Free access to consensus codes with the steps listed here.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
Homeland security policy and strategy documents. Free registration (restricted to U.S. students and researchers) is required for access.
- Science.govsearches 45 databases+ and 2000+ select websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies.
- Tall Timbers Fire Ecology DatabaseBibliographic index (no full-text) of fire ecology research and publications.
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
- Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
- Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)
How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.
More information (curtesy of NCSU libraries):
Contact Us
-
Email your question.
-
Call 800-847-3000, ext. 2222
-
Text: 518-623-6321 (SMS only, no phone calls or images. Standard messaging rates apply.)
![X](https://sunyempire.edu/media/images/home/2019/iconmonstr-twitter-3.png"){kind=small}
