LibGuides: Privacy, Security and Freedom: Journals & Articles

Journal Article Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Congress.gov Search across various publications from or about the U.S. Congress

Homeland Security Digital Library Homeland security policy and strategy documents. Free registration (restricted to U.S. students and researchers) is required for access.
Military & Government Collection
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Pro and con essays, articles and primary sources on controversial issues. SUNY Empire Login Required Help using Opposing Viewpoints in ContextHelp creating a permalink in Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Sage Journals Scholarly articles in all subjects. Particularly good in business, biology/medicine, engineering, and the social sciences. We do not have access to full-text for all Sage journals. Limit your search to "Only Content I Have Full Access To." You can also access “Open Access” content in Sage. SUNY Empire Login RequiredHelp getting a permalink in Sage Journals
SocINDEX with Full-text Scholarly, full-text articles in sociology, social work, and social psychology. Start here for research about the family, the community, or the workplace. SUNY Empire Login RequiredHelp using SocINDEX with Full-textHelp getting a permalink in SocINDEX with Full-textEBSCOhost Accessibility Help

Select Peer-Reviewed Journals

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)

How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.

More information: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals