Search These Databases for Articles on Your Topic
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Articles on communication and media topics, including television and movies, the news, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles in all subjects. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ProQuest Research Library
Scholarly and popular articles in all subjects. This is a great place to start your research. SUNY Empire Login Required
- JSTOR
Unlike most databases, JSTOR has plenty of content published before the 1990s, but it does not have full-text for the most recent 2-3 years. Articles in all subjects, but especially good for history, area studies, the arts and humanities, mathematics, environmental science, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Academic OneFile
Journal and news articles in all subjects. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Sage Journals
Scholarly articles in all subjects. Particularly good in business, biology/medicine, engineering, and the social sciences.
We do not have access to full-text for all Sage journals. Limit your search to "Only Content I Have Full Access To." You can also access “Open Access” content in Sage. SUNY Empire Login Required
- EBSCOhost Exploring Race in Society
Open resource providing thousands of full-text academic articles, government agency reports, primary source documents and speeches, and content covering issues related to race, including those of Indigenous communities
- Humanities Source
Articles in the humanities (literature, arts, history, philosophy, etc). SUNY Empire Login Required
- Gender Studies Database
Articles in gender studies and sexual diversity. SUNY Empire Login Required
- GenderWatch
Articles in gender studies and sexual diversity. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses. SUNY Empire Login Required
- LGBTQ+ Source with Full-text
Scholarly, popular and newspaper articles as well as a number of important scholarly books about gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer studies. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Art Index
Articles on arts topics. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Directory of Open Access JournalsFull-text, Open Access scholarly articles.
- EBSCOhost (all of the EBSCOhost databases)
Pick two or more EBSCOhost databases to search at the same time. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ProQuest (all of the ProQuest databases)
Select two or more ProQuest databases to search at the same time. SUNY Empire Login Required
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Author is an expert in the field
- Content has been evaluated by other experts
- Information sources used by author are cited
How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Most of our databases offer a feature to limit search results to only articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals. If this feature is not visible on the main search screen, look for an advanced search feature.
More information: Scholarly, Popular, and Trade Information Sources
![X](https://sunyempire.edu/media/images/home/2019/iconmonstr-twitter-3.png"){kind=small}
