Encyclopedias FAQ
Why Use Encyclopedias and Dictionaries?
- Get a good overview and history of a topic, term or issue.
- Focus your topic and place it properly within context of the field of study
- Find alternate keywords to help locate relevant articles and books.
Can I Cite an Encyclopedia in my Paper?
Ask your instructor, but normally, encyclopedias provide insufficient information when researching a topic in the academic environment. Encyclopedias are not meant to be your only source for research. Instead, use them as a starting point to gain a basic understanding of the scope and terminology associated with your topic so that you can then begin in-depth research. Many entries do contain a "Further Reading" section, however, that you may find useful for locating more detailed information.
Select Reference Titles
- MedlinePlus: Veterans and Military Family HealthAuthoritative health information from the National Library of Medicine.
- Veterans' Services ReportsCongressional Quarterly reports
Reference Databases
Encyclopedias and other reference works provide background information for your research. In general, you do not cite them in your paper.
Click here for more information on using reference materials to get started with your research.
- Gale Ebooks
Search hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, guides, manuals, and handbooks. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Pro and con essays, articles and primary sources on controversial issues. SUNY Empire Login Required
Subject Guide
Mon-Thu: 12 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Phone: 800-847-3000, ext. 2222.
or check our knowledgebase or submit a question via online form.
Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from Ask Us 24/7 are available to help when we aren't available. Please note:
If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability for library content needed for your coursework, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
