SUNY Empire Library Webpages & Guides: Veteran Services: Journal Articles

Journal Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
Search thousands of journals and newspapers from many different fields.
Healthcare Administration Database
Find information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration.
JSTOR
Archived scholarly content (up to 3 years ago) in many disciplines.
Military & Government Collection
Articles, primary sources, and news in government and military. SUNY Empire Login Required

ProQuest Psychology Database
540+ full-text journals

PsycARTICLES
Psychology journals database.

RAND Reports Search
Includes many military and veterans services reports.

ScienceDirect
Full-text access to 248 journals. Please also check Google Scholar if you cannot find full-text in ScienceDirect. SUNY Empire Login Required

Veterans' Health Admin Publications
Browse their R&D publications.

Peer-Review/Scholarly Articles FAQ

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)

How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.

More information: