OneSearch Tutorial

In addition to showing you the top results for your search, the results page includes a variety of options for adjusting what is displayed. 

A Note on Full-Text

No single library has access to everything. If you see a 'Get It' or 'Search for Availability' link below a result rather than a Full-text one, this usually means it isn't in our collections. However, as long as you are signed into OneSearch (top right in blue stripe) you can click on that link to request the item via inter-library loan. Note: this service is for articles or single book chapters - it is not for entire books. If our library doesn't have a book you need (if it is not found or if there isn't a Full-Text link for it), you may want to consider physically visiting another academic library near you (such as other SUNY or CUNY campus libraries, most of which Empire students have borrowing privileges at).

OneSearch also searches millions and millions of records from dozens of different vendors at the same time. As a result, there are sometimes errors in the metadata and a Full-Text link sometimes may not work. If this happens: 

1. Click the title of the item from the results page. This will take you to the record display. Try all the links listed there under "Full Text Availability" (this section may take a few moments to display).
2. Notify the library with the exact details of the error (link to, and title and author of the item, the error message you saw and any other relevant details.

Limit Options

On the left side are Limit Options, including ones for Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed, Publication Date, Resource Type (article, ebook, etc.), and Subject. You can also sort your results. The default is Relevance, which is a formula based roughly on your search words (note that your search words that appear in the title are underlined in yellow). You can re-sort by Date, Title, or Author last name. Once you turn a limit option on, you'll see it listed at the top of the left side under "Active Filters." Click the 'X' to the right of a filter to turn it off or click 'Reset' to turn all filters off.

Results Item Display

Each result shows a variety of information, including resource type (article, ebook, etc.), title, author, date, and other citation details, as well an an indicator, if applicable if it's Peer Reviewed and or Open Access, and a Full-Text link, when available.

To the right of each result some icons are displayed that can include:

• Red arrows: cited sources or sources citing this work
• Chain link: a permalink for citing or linking directly to that result
• Double Quotes: a formatted citation for that item (in APA, MLA, etc.). IMPORTANT: there are sometimes errors in this display (especially in capitalization of titles and authors) so proofread it against the official style guidelines you are using.
• Pin: Keep this Item allows you to mark items for later use. If you are Signed In, you can save items to a folder where you can organize and access them at a later date. Anything pinned during a session when not signed in will be lost when you leave the site.
• Three Dots (ellipses): more options, including Print (prints just the citation, NOT the full-text), Email (sends only the citation and a link to the record), and Export (for putting into a Citation Management Tool such as Zotero).

Page Options

If not already Signed IN, use your Empire username and password to sign in using the link in the top right (blue stripe area). Doing so will allow you to request articles via inter-library loan, save items for later use, and ensure you have access to all results.

After you sign in, above the first result are 2 options:

• Save Query: saves the current search to your Favorites 
• Personalize: allows you to limit the results by broad Discipline or Area of Study.

Each results page displays 10 results be default (this cannot be changed). In the bottom right is an icon to load more results or change which page of results to view: