Whats in this guide?
In this guide, students will be able to find resources to help them with the completion of Educational Psychology (PSYC 3015). Different sections of the guide will cover different aspects of the course. The primary purpose of the guide is to provide insight into the resources available as well as to give you guidance on writing an annotated bibliography assignment. If you are having difficulty feel free to contact the library for further assistance. We're here to help!
Librarian
Ask a Librarian - Chat 24/7, online contact form, and FAQ
Ask a Librarian Hours
Monday & Tuesday: 9am-8pm
Wednesday 12pm-7pm
Thursday 10am-7pm
Friday 8am-5:30pm
Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from Ask Us 24/7 are available to help when we aren't available.
Please note:
If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability for library content needed for your coursework, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
Education Databases Available from the Library
- Education Source
Articles on education. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ERIC
Articles and reports on education, learning and child development. SUNY Empire Login Required
- LearnTechLib
Over 100,000 peer-reviewed documents relating to Learning and Technology. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles in all subjects. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ProQuest Research Library
Scholarly and popular articles in all subjects. This is a great place to start your research. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. Students, faculty, and staff may create a free account using their @sunyempire.edu email address, which syncs with SUNY Empire's site license.
- ProQuest Education Database
Access to 900+ educational publications (600 in full text). Coverage spans primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education(1988 - current). SUNY Empire Login Required
- Teacher Reference Center
Indexing and abstracts for 280 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. SUNY Empire Login Required
Psychology Resources available for searching
- OneSearch
Search most library databases at once. SUNY Empire Login Required
- PsycARTICLES
Full-text, scholarly articles in all aspects of psychology. You can narrow your search down by species, age group, gender, research methodology, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) LibraryIncludes: DSM-5, Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases, and more,
- MedlinePlus: Mental Health and BehaviorAuthoritative overviews of symptoms, diagnoses, treatments and more for many mental health disorders and common behavioral issues, from the National Library of Medicine
- Merck Manual: Overview of Mental IllnessBrief details on mental disorders - symptoms, treatment, etc.
- ProQuest Psychology Database
Abstracts and indexing for more than 650 journals, with over 540 titles available in full text. Includes access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Also includes 4,000 full text dissertations. SUNY Empire Login Required
- AnthroSource
Scholarly articles on anthropology topics. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Social Sciences with Full-text
Full-text scholarly articles about social science concepts and methods. SUNY Empire Login Required
- SocINDEX with Full-text
Scholarly, full-text articles in sociology, social work, and social psychology. Start here for research about the family, the community, or the workplace. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Social Science & Humanities Library Collection
1480+ scholarly Taylor & Francis journals (millions of full-text articles) from 1997 to present. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ProQuest Social Science Journals Database
1000+ journal titles in sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, with the majority available in full text. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Criminal Justice Database
Articles and research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, and other material. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Sage Journals
Scholarly articles in all subjects. Particularly good in business, biology/medicine, engineering, and the social sciences.
We do not have access to full-text for all Sage journals. Limit your search to "Only Content I Have Full Access To." You can also access “Open Access” content in Sage. SUNY Empire Login Required