International Relations and Politics: POLI 3065: Online Resources for International Relations and Politics

• Pravda - This is one of the former government sources of official information in the Communist era. As you will see, it takes a more balanced view of politics in the current post-Soviet environment and contains good links to other material on the Russian perspective.

• Central Intelligence Agency Homepage.Go to the CIA Home Page and look for the World Factbook which profiles 194 nations, a possible way to learn about the national perspectives of the selected actors in this course.
• Department of State Homepage. This page details the American perspective on foreign policy with press statements and bulletins on current issues.

• Foreign Policy Association. A public interest group which covers major U. S. foreign policy issues and sponsors the Great Decisions series. It examines public attitudes toward major foreign policy problems.
• Cold War. This is a comprehensive and award-winning site which evaluates the Cold War, including the perspective of the Soviet Union which is relevant today.
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. This page provides links to the journal Foreign Policy and information on security affairs at the international level.
• Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). This organization analyzes and evaluates military spending around the world.
• Bulletin of Atomic Scientists. This group is best known for its research on nuclear deterrence as well as proliferation and the"doomsday clock."
• Federation of American Scientists. This is a public interest group which has a wealth of material on international security and the likelihood of a nuclear exchange or terrorist attack.
• China Internet Information Center. This page is a comprehensive gateway to the Peoples' Republic of China political and governmental institutions as well as current affairs and national issues.
• European Union (EU). This site offers an array of looks at the European perspective and represents the international integration of Europe in the political, social, cultural, and economic areas. Once you enter the site, Chapter 6 shows the structure of "pooled sovereignty", which details the legal authority for collective action. You can also explore the various organs of the EU.
• Foreign Affairs Ministries on the Web: Lists web addresses for foreign affairs ministries for most countries.
• Organization of American States (OAS) Originally part of the U.S. mechanisms for containment in the Cold War era in Latin America, this organization offers the developing world's perspectives on a variety of international issues as well as the potential for regional integration and new relationships with the United States.
• Japan (Ministry of Foreign Affairs). This is an excellent way to explore the Japanese perspective. Link to MITI for trade and economic matters, especially "the trade or die" imperative of the Japanese world view.
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. This page provides links to the journal Foreign Policy and information on security affairs at the international level.
• United Nations Digital Library: includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials.
• Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources: A frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.  Managed by emeriti faculty of Elizabethtown College.
• Syracuse University Research Guide on International Relations: Regularly updated guide that includes information on primary sources, data, professional organizations, and other information on international relations.

Think Tanks, sometimes called policy research institutes, are organizations that research issues and suggest policy and advocate to national and international politicians, governments, and organizations to consider their suggested policies.  Think tanks can be a good source to view how different political parties or perspectives would address global or national problems.  Below are some think tanks that are good to consult about International Relations and Politics.

• Cato Institute: Located in Washington DC focused on foreign relations focused on maintaining limited government, free markets, individual liberty and peace.  The institute is non-interventionist and libertarian in its approach.
• Heritage Foundation. The Heritage Foundation is a conservative think tank and policy research organization which contains links to foreign policy and international security affairs.
• Rand Corporation. RAND is one of the oldest and most respected think tanks in the United States which studies domestic, foreign policy, and international issues.
• American Enterprise Institute (AEI): Established in 1943 to promote the virtues of free-market economics, AEI has since expanded into social issues, world economy, defense policy, and foreign affairs.
• Hoover Institution: The Hoover Institution is a unit of Stanford University, and is located on the campus. The Institution houses a large archive related to President Hoover, World War I, and World War II. It is a think tank, a host to academic activity. Its mission statement outlines its basic tenets: representative government, private enterprise, peace, personal freedom, and the safeguards of the American system.
• Brookings Institution: Conduct research on ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global levels. Considered one of the pre-eminent liberal think tanks.
• Center for Strategic and International Studies:  International policy institute focused on defense, security; and many other transnational challenges. 

Tools for Searching and Researching Think Tanks:

• Think Tank Search: searches the websites of selected think tanks and can be used to see different perspectives on issues.
• On Think Tanks: Reviews think tanks and topics related to think tanks, focusing on developing countries.