MUSC 3045 - World Music Across Cultures: Advanced: Oceana

Wangga is a genre of public dance-song from the Daly region of northwest Australia. The site includes 150 wangga song texts, organised into six repertories: four from the Belyuen-based songmen Barrtjap, Muluk, Mandji and Lambudju, and two from the Wadeye-based Walakandha and Ma-yawa wangga groups, which are named after the ancestral song-giving ghosts of the Marri Tjavin and Marri Ammu people respectively.

Music Archive of Monash University (MAMU) is a physical and digital collection of musical instruments, scores, field recordings, puppets and diverse other musical, dance and theatrical materials acquired since the foundation of the University’s Department of Music in 1965.

The NFSA’s mission is to collect, preserve and share Australia’s vibrant and diverse audiovisual culture as embodied by our evolving collection - reflecting who we were, who we are, and who we want to be.

Google collaborated with Anangu Traditional Owners of Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Parks Australia and the Northern Territory Government to capture the park for Street View according to Tjukurpa law. The result is an interactive, audio-visual guided tour, narrated by Sammy Wilson and with song and music by Traditional Owner and Anangu Elder, Reggie Uluru.

Archives New Zealand hold a large amount of audiovisual material in many formats. These include VHS, UMatic, Betacam and other magnetic video formats, as well as a range of audio formats such as reel-to-reel audiotape, mechanical and optical discs.

True Echoes is a research project that is reconnecting a rich archive of early sound recordings of Oceanic cultures with the communities from which they originate. True Echoes is centred on digitised wax cylinder recordings from the British Library Sound Archive. The wax cylinder collections include recordings made in Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia and the Torres Strait Islands in Australia between 1898 and 1924. These unique recordings, created using phonographs, are hugely significant as they include early documentation of oral traditions and represent some of the earliest uses of sound in anthropological research. They include music, stories, speeches and many different types of songs; from hunting songs to hymns, lullabies to funeral dirges. True Echoes is working with cultural and research institutions in the region and in the UK to enhance the visibility and accessibility of these collections, ensuring that they are catalogued in ways that are accessible to the communities whose heritage they represent.