MUSC 3045 - World Music Across Cultures: Advanced: Europe

Archipelago Network is an initiative for the preservation, documentation, and promotion of audiovisual heritage, culture, and material knowledge on Greece’s Cycladic islands.

Provides online access to digital audio files of cylinders in the Syracuse University Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive. Belfer's cylinder collection includes over 22,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique titles.

The Comhaltas Traditional Music Archive is a national project of Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann. The Comhaltas Archive aims to preserve, organize, and make available materials relating to Irish cultural traditions, including Irish music, song, dance, language, and history.

Europeana enables you to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections. Some items and topics are world famous, like Isaac Newton's book about the Laws of Motion, the drawings of Leonardo da Vinci, Johannes Vermeer's painting of the Girl With A Pearl Earring, or objects about the Berlin Wall. Others are hidden treasures, waiting for you to discover them.

The Full English contains over 44,000 records and over 58,000 digitised images from the archives of 19 of the most important and influential collectors in the UK. It is the world's biggest digital archive of English traditional music and dance tunes.

Irish Traditional Music Archive / Taisce Cheol Dúchais Éireann’s mission is to be the national public archive and resource centre for Irish traditional music, song and dance, and the globally-recognised specialist advisory agency to advance appreciation, knowledge, and the practice of Irish traditional music.

The digital collection of Latvia’s historical sound recordings takes as its basis the production of record company "Bellaccord Electro," as well as shellac records issued in Riga after World War II. Records of other companies are included if they contain Latvian music or performers. This collection aims to reflect and document the music scene of Latvia in the first half of the 20th century in a wide variety of genres.

No fewer than 4000 audiovisual archive items are available online, on a trilingual website, enabling a broad range of views of the heritage of the whole Mediterranean area. For music, search "music and songs" under "themes."

A project of Na Píobairí Uilleann (Uilleann Pipers Society), the Source is their web-based piping and traditional music resource, making available their accumulated training, tutorial and archive materials to lovers of Irish music around the world. Includes video, audio, and photos.

The Norwegian Institute of Recorded Sound (Norsk Lydinstitutt Stavanger) collection currently contains more than 120,000 LP records, 50,000 78 rpm records, 10,000 audio reel tapes, 5,000 video and music cassettes, 5,000 books on music, record catalogues, and periodicals, as well as extensive equipment for playing and copying of recordings.

The Song Collectors Collective celebrates the people who conserve rare oral culture within their communities in Britain, Ireland and beyond. One of the core aims of the SCC is to record more than just songs, but stories, family histories, yarns, knowledge, lore and experiences of social change.

This collection features traditional tunes and songs collected by master fiddle player Séamus Connolly, Sullivan Artist in Residence in Irish Music at Boston College (2004 to 2015) and National Heritage Fellow (2013). The collection offers over 330 audio recordings featuring more than 130 musicians with accompanying stories, transcriptions, and introductory essays.

Tobar an Dualchais/Kist o Riches is Scotland’s online resource dedicated to the presentation and promotion of audio recordings of Scotland’s cultural heritage. Its principal content is songs, music, history, poetry, traditions and stories, recorded from the 1930s onwards. The website contains material from three archives: The School of Scottish Studies, The Canna Collection and BBC Radio nan Gàidheal and there are recordings in Gaelic, Scots and English. Tobar an Dualchais/Kist o Riches’ principal aim is to ensure that Scotland’s rich oral heritage is safeguarded and made widely available for present and future generations.

The Ukrainian music archives. The project of recording the songs featured on this website was started in 2014 by a small team that has grown into an international collaboration. The archive is searchable by genre, region, performance context and theme.