MUSC 3045 - World Music Across Cultures: Advanced: Home

Releases, album histories, and charts from all over the world.

A resource and survey of world music and an array of resources from all over the world. Perfect for exploring.

is the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution. It is a part of the Smithsonian's Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage, located at Capital Gallery in downtown Washington, D.C. The label was founded in 1987 after the family of Moses Asch, founder of Folkways Records, donated the entire Folkways Records label to the Smithsonian. Many of the recordings in the archive are available to listen to for free.

Your Connection to traditional and contemporary World Music, including folk, roots, global music, ethnic and cross-cultural fusions

Provides online access to a digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the University of California, Santa Barbara, Department of Special Collections.

The Global Jukebox is a growing space to connect with our deep heritage through the expressive arts of singing, dancing, and conversing from around the world. Select from hundreds of countries to explore contemporary and historical music from around the world.

The collection of 40,000 hours contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact - both in the United States and Worldwide. Produced in the United States by numerous channels of the Public Broadcasting Company and National Public Radio. The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first.
This extraordinary collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local leve

Contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by their users.

A multimedia website devoted to the early days of Canadian recorded sound, providing an overview of the 78-rpm era in Canada. The Virtual Gramophone database contains information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.

Music recorded in Newfoundland and Cape Breton by MacEdward Leach between 1949-1951. The Cape Breton Gaelic songs recorded by Leach, include milling songs, psalm precenting, homeland songs, love songs, and locally composed songs, and war songs. In Newfoundland, Leach recorded comic songs, ballads, cumulative or enumerative songs, and shanties. He also collected a number of instrumental dance tunes.