Gender and Women's Studies: LGBTQ Primary Sources

Video interviews and transcripts with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT UP) NY. Plenty of free content on the site - more available for purchase.

Documents, photographs, and digitized ephemera from LGBTQ2+ history, focusing on Canada and to a lesser extent, the Western, English-speaking world.

Scanned copies of one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the US. Part of the Digital Collections of the River Campus Libraries of the University of Rochester.

Scanned copies of a LGBTQ newspaper, published in Minneapolis, that ran from 1994 to 2007. In the Minnesota Digital Library, which is part of the Digital Public Library of America.

Includes the AIDS Legal Referral Panel records, Linda Alband Collection of Randy Shilts Materials, Crawford Wayne Barton Papers, archive and obituary database of the Bay Area Reporter, BML Videos, Bruce Decker Papers, Charles Cyberski Collection, Fruit Punch radio series recordings and transcripts, The Gay Life radio series and transcripts, Elaine Gay Jarvis papers, Henri Leleu papers, selected oral history recordings and transcripts, Harold T. O'Neal collection, Pride Parade videos (San Francisco in the 1970s and 80s), Robert Pruzan papers, Sue Rochman papers, Lou Sullivan papers, M.J. Talbot recordings, Beowulf Thorne papers, a selection of transgender informational and event brochures, Marie Ueda photographs from the 1970s-90s including of Harvey Milk and Gay Freedom Day, Vanguard Magazine from 1966-67, and Chana Wilson audio recordings.

49 oral histories conducted by the Center for the Study of Women, Gender, & Sexuality (Rice University) 2007-2015 and hosted in the Rice Digital Scholarship Archive.

Digitized materials include parts of HAPPY Foundation Archives, The Calendar, The Marquise, San Antonio Community News, and the Rainbow Gazette and Rainbow Garden Club manuscript materials.

Includes Sisterhood Is Powerful, Out of the Closet Into the Pulpit, Rolling the Stone Away, The United Methodist Gay Caucus, Open Hands, Towards A Quaker View Of Sex (1963), The Upstairs Lounge Fire, Council on Religion and the Homosexual (1964-68), Ordination of William R. Johnson, Congregation Beit Simchat Torah (world's largest LGBT synagogue, located in NYC), Maranatha Riversiders for LGBT Concerns, Shower of Stoles Project, and a sampler of newsletters and articles from 1964-81.

Largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Includes Digital collections are part of the USC Digital Library, University of Southern California.

Includes collections related to Stonewall Riot Police Reports, Queer Bronzeville (Chicago), Ruth Peter Worth, Lorraine Hansberry, Sara Josephine Baker, transgender children in antebellum America, Juliette Derricotte, Norma Trist or Pure Carbon: A Story of the Inversion of the Sexes (1895), Queer Newark, and Hunter O'Hara: On Bullying.

Oral history recordings and transcripts of LGBTQ people in the Santa Cruz area. By the Regents of the University of California.

Oral histories and digital collections relating to LGBT life in the Washington DC area.

Oral histories of the transgender community of Brighton & Hove (England.) Sponsored by the Heritage Lottery Fund.

Online hub for digitized historical materials and archival holdings throughout the world, having to do with trans history, including nonbinary and inclusive of the widest possible range of historical and cross-cultural gender experiences. Supported by the College of the Holy Cross, Digitla Commonwealth, and a Digital Innovation Fellowship and subsequent Digital Extension grant from the American Council of Learned Societies.

Oral histories from New York City's trans and gender nonconforming communities, focusing on resistance and resilience. From the New York Public Library.

"Oral histories of gender transgression, broadly understood through a trans framework." From the University of Minnesota Libraries. Phase 1 led by Andrea Jenkins and focuses on life stories and experiences of transgender and gender nonconforming people of the US Upper Midwest. Phase 2 led by Myrl Beam and focuses on trans politics, activist movements, and strategy debates.

Audio and video oral histories, radi and TV programs. Operated out of Simon Fraser University Library's Special Collections and Rare Books, and supported by a grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

Selected episodes of a half-hour television show that ran from 1993 to 2005, covering news, popular culture health, art, sports, and music. Part of the Sophia Smith Collection at the Women's History Archives at Smith College.

World's largest collection of audio/video materials about lesbians and lesbian communities, from the Lesbian Herstory Archives in Brooklyn, NY. Collections include Audre Lorde, Boots of Leather Slippers of Gold (Buffalo, NY), Daughters of Bilitis Video Project, Dyke TV, Mabel Hampton, and the No More Invisible Women Exhibition of ACT UP NY in 1988-89.

Hosted by the UCLA Library Digital Collections. Includes the Connexxus/Centro de Mujeres Collection, Cruikshank Collection, Faderman Collection, Southern California Women for Understanding Collection, and Women Against Violence Against Women Collection.