Skip to Main Content
MySUNYEmpire
1Stop Student Services
Alumni
SUNY Empire Online Library
LibGuides
How-To Guides
Self-Help
Essentials
Search this Guide
Search
Self-Help
Tutorials to help you use the library, do academic level research, and find resources.
Essentials
Starting a Research Assignment
Searching & Database Help
Toggle Dropdown
Advanced Research Techniques
Database Tutorials
Advanced Disciplinary and Research Methods
Getting Full-Text
Citing Sources
Writing
Toggle Dropdown
Writing and Critical Thinking OERs
Print Handouts
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Sources
Scholarly, Academic, and Professional Sources
Video tutorial (3:32)
Peer-Review in 3 Minutes
How do I find scholarly/peer-reviewed sources on my topic?
APA Style - Reading and Understanding Abstracts
From APA, but useful across many disciplines.
Strategies for Scholarly Sources Note-Taking
Taking notes when reading scholarly sources is proven best way to learn and integrate evidence into research writing.
Get Started
Quick Tour of the Online Library (video)
Starting a Research Paper
Assignment Calculator
Get help managing your time, and instruction for all the steps in the university-level research process.
Research Skills Tutorial
Library Survival Guide: 10 Tips to Effectively Use the Library
(Print ver.) Library Survival Guide: 10 tips to effectively and efficiently use the library
Topic Formation
Brainstorm your Research Topic
Ways to tweak and narrow your topic and create a list of possible search words.
Confirmation Bias and How to Minimize It
Video explaining the universal human mind trap of confirmation bias when seeking information.
Search Strategy
OneSearch Tutorial
How (and when) to use the OneSearch search box on the library home page.
Tips and Tricks: Phrase Searching
video (1:00)
How do I
get the full-text
for this article (or book)?
How to Request Full-Text Articles using OneSearch
How to request articles, book chapters, or theses and dissertations if not available in full-text in the library.
Cite and Evaluate Sources
Academic Integrity and Avoiding Plagiarism
Includes a link to an academic integrity quiz.
APA Quick Tips (7th ed)
Quiz yourself on this handout as well! Take a
brief quiz
.
Evaluate Sources for Credibility
Video (3:14)
Evaluate Sources with Lateral Reading
Evaluate Sources with a Rat TRAP
Quick and easy way to evaluate sources for reliability
Guidelines on how to analyze a social science article (or social science documentary film)
Next:
Starting a Research Assignment >>
![X](https://sunyempire.edu/media/images/home/2019/iconmonstr-twitter-3.png"){kind=small}
