Business, Management & Economics: Web Sites

Accounting education, research and practice, plus helpful links.

Look up annual reports by company name, industry, sector, or stock exchange.

Company and industry information including historical stock quotes for companies that are still in business.

Historical corporate annual reports from the mid-1800s through the 1960s.

This web site from the Library of Congress links out to dozens of useful sites that rank businesses in different industries and categories.

This catalog of everything basically acts as a directory of which companies manufacture what.

This department of the government ensures that companies disclose important facts about their operations, so that investors have the information they need to make decisions. Use the search box at the top right (you may know this database as EDGAR) to look up the SEC filings of a certain company.

Investment and company profile information, rankings, ratings, and analysis.

Measures 10 economic sectors, 41 industries, and over 200 companies and government agencies for customer satisfaction. From the University of Michigan's Ross Business School.

Search data from the Census including maps, tables, and reports. You can get information on population, housing, and fact sheets on towns, counties, zip codes, and states.

Consumer-oriented info, including consumer protection, resources and complaints procedure.

An industry association web site that includes information about consumer behavior and spending. Look under the Industry Information tab.

Learn about the communication styles, displays of emotion, clothing, rules about punctuality, what level of formality is expected, common stereotypes about and held by, preferred qualities in managers, and how workplace conflict is handled for different countries and regions.

This contains the Fortune 500 for 2022.

From Michigan State University's International Business Center. Information on business activities in different parts of the world.

Country guides and "doing business in" fact sheets for US businesses that want to expand internationally. From BusinessWire.

Global financial and economic data.

Reports on economic issues and risk in different countries.

Maps and country statistics about all the countries of the world, from hundreds of sources.

World macroeconomic and trade data. Click on the Statistics tab.

Search indicators and create reports related to population, health, and the environment around the world. Different parts of the world have different kinds of information available - it is not consistent. Data sources include the US Census, other national censuses, the UN, and the International Energy Agency.

Quick import and export data, but not very specific.

Statistical profiles on oil, gas, and energy issues for different countries and regions.

Bilateral relations fact sheets and sometimes also has links to country background notes.

Census import and export data going back many years. Usually fairly up to date - for example, January information should be available by March. You need to figure out the code for the product you're looking for.

Statistical databases from the United Nations. You can search by keyword or browse by country. There is also a glossary and a description of each of the datasets.

International socioeconomic development data, including t he World Development Indicator (WDI) and the Global Development Finance (GDF.)

Detailed entries for every county. This is a public domain resource.

U.S. Government Printing Office.

The GAO is an independent agency that oversees the federal government's spending of tax dollars.

Huge amounts of industry information gathered by the U.S. government once every five years. Yes, we included it twice. This is another way to access the information. Convenient if you know what you're looking for.

Global financial and economic data.

World macroeconomic and trade data. Click on the Statistics tab.

Data and statistics from all U.S. government agencies, including on Taxation, Transportation, Public Safety, Education, Jobs, Health, Population, Environment, Energy, Agriculture, Defense, International Relations, Business, Economy, etc.

International socioeconomic development data, including t he World Development Indicator (WDI) and the Global Development Finance (GDF.)

Web site of a non-profit organization that advocates for sustainability leadership. Investment information about environmentally sustainable business and corporate practices.

Corporate responsibility reports.

"We help organizations share their ESG communications with audiences around the world."

News reporting about breaches of corporate ethics and harm to the environment, consumers, workers, etc.

Information and news about corporate activities and policy issues having to do with social responsibility, economic justice, and environmental sustainability.

Research for investors on responsible governance for the environment and social issues.

Magazine about ethical investing, ethical corporate behavior, and breaches of ethics.

A magazine of rankings, analysis, and best practices in corporate responsibility and ethics.

From Michigan State University. Information on corporate social responsibility.

A non-profit organization that focuses on economic strategies to solve social and environmental problems through partnerships between consumers, investors, businesses, and the marketplace.

Information and news on socially responsible investing.

A directory of background information on CEOs and other executives of major companies.

Profiles of women CEOs of very large corporations.

Look up annual reports by company name, industry, sector, or stock exchange.

Free industry statistics and financial ratios.

News about markets and finance and investing tutorials.

A glossary of finance terms.

This department of the government ensures that companies disclose important facts about their operations, so that investors have the information they need to make decisions. Use the search box at the top right (you may know this database as EDGAR) to look up the SEC filings of a certain company.

Free industry statistics and financial ratios.

Huge amounts of industry information gathered by the U.S. government once every five years.

Huge amounts of industry information gathered by the U.S. government once every five years. Yes, we included it twice. This is another way to access the information. Convenient if you know what you're looking for.

Industry profiles from Michigan State University's Global Edge project.

Starting point for current information on industries, from the Library of Congress.

Statistical and economic data on the production, distribution, consumption, and supply of mineral commodities.

Profiles of industries and professions intended for job hunters.

Company and industry information including historical stock quotes for companies that are still in business.

Financial news and data as well as stock information.

Information on corporate, municipal, and Treasury bonds, Federal Agency securities, bond funds, and convertible bonds.

A commodities and futures exchange organization. Their site has information about current commodities trade.

News about markets and finance and investing tutorials.

Data and information on bonds and bond markets.

Information on how to do bond research from the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA.)

Information on the investment company industry and policy related to it.

Information about how IPOs (initial public offerings) work.

Information on what stocks are and how they are traded.

Current and upcoming IPO filings and performance of recent offerings.

Analysis of stocks performance.

This department of the government collects information from commodities in order to ensure that investors have enough good information to make decisions. The site has information about commodities markets.

Investment and company profile information, rankings, ratings, and analysis.

Descriptive summaries provide information on kind of work, working conditions, earnings, educational requirements, etc. This is a public domain resource. From the U.S. Department of Labor.

Covers 675 management topics for both for-profit and non-profit businesses, plus resources.

Marketing research professional association.

Newsletter about consumer trends.

Newsletter about "entrepreneurial ideas" based on trends.

Searchable resource of federal assistance for small businesses. (The searchable part is accessible at the bottom of the page.)

Step-by-step assistance for small business owners.

Offices in each state can answer tax questions and help find funding for small business owners.

Business plan templates, information on financing and grants, and links to state resources.

Replaces FedStats. Federal government statistics and data sets of all kinds.

Huge amounts of industry information gathered by the U.S. government once every five years.

A guide to government web sites where you can obtain statistics for various business needs - demographics, economic indicators, labor, finance, industry research, foreign trade, laws and regulations, real estate, small businesses, taxes, etc.

Data collected up to 2011 and last published in 2012.

Economic data by industry for each county. Excludes information on self-employment, domestic, agricultural, government, and railroad employees.

National and state data on businesses and employees, broken out by industry. Does not include self-employeed, domestic, agricultural, government, and railroad employees.

Statistics and maps from the US Census on population, demographics, education, employment, etc.

Data and statistics from all U.S. government agencies, including on Taxation, Transportation, Public Safety, Education, Jobs, Health, Population, Environment, Energy, Agriculture, Defense, International Relations, Business, Economy, etc.

A nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC.

A nonprofit, nonpartisan, public policy research organization. The Levy Institute is independent of any political or other affiliation, and encourages diversity of opinion in the examination of economic policy issues while striving to transform ideological arguments into informed debate.

A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.

A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy.

An unusual kind of think tank, which focuses on gathering data related to state fiscal conditions, tax policies, fiscal capabilities and spending trends as well as the implementation of government policy, to promote informed decision-making on the part of the government.