Searching for your topic? Use databases.
- Nexis Uni
Primary source for federal and state case law and statutes and law reviews. Company, industry, country, and executive profiles. Newspapers. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Congressional Quarterly Researcher Archive
Archived government policy reports up to 2014. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Criminal Justice Database
Articles and research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, and other material. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Scholarly articles, government reports, case law, congressional documents, legislation about firearms regulation and legislation in the U.S. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Social Science & Humanities Library Collection
1480+ scholarly Taylor & Francis journals (millions of full-text articles) from 1997 to present. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Social Sciences with Full-text
Full-text scholarly articles about social science concepts and methods. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Nathanson Centre on Transnational Human Rights, Crime, and SecurityIndexes articles and books on human rights, security, corruption, and organized crime, but has no full text. From York University.
- National Institute of Justice Publications & MultimediaThe research and development agency within the Dept. of Justice. Search 100's of full-text articles, reports & videos.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Justice and drug-related information intended to support research, policy, and program development.
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Author is an expert in the field
- Content has been evaluated by other experts
- Information sources used by author are cited
How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Most of our databases offer a feature to limit search results to only articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals. If this feature is not visible on the main search screen, look for an advanced search feature.
More information: Scholarly, Popular, and Trade Information Sources
Contact Us
-
Email your question.
-
Call 800-847-3000, ext. 2222
-
Text: 518-623-6321 (SMS only, no phone calls or images. Standard messaging rates apply.)
-
Schedule a library consultation: with a SUNY Empire librarian on Microsoft Teams.