SUNY Empire Library News & Alerts

How do I save articles for later in the SUNY Empire library databases?

While you do research in the SUNY Empire online library, you may want to use the feature that lets you save articles for later. Depending on which library database you are using, this works differently. Your SUNY Empire login gives you access to all of our library resources. Most of the databases have special features, like saving for later, set up to require you to create a free login account with them. Each database looks a bit different and uses different wording for this so here is a rundown of all the different ways to save articles for later in our library.

• How to save for later in OneSearch
• How to save for later in EBSCOhost
• How to save for later in Proquest
• How to save for later in JSTOR
• How to save for later in Gale

How to save for later in OneSearch

OneSearch is customized by our library to connect to your SUNY Empire login.

If you see the words "Sign In" at the top of the screen, you cannot save for later. It may let you click the thumbtack icon to save an item but it will only be saved for your current session. That means if you aren't signed in, it won't be there later when you come back to look for it.

Click Sign In and it should give you a popup asking how you would like to sign in. Select ESC Students, Faculty, & Staff.

This should show you a SUNY Empire login screen. Once you login, it will take you back to OneSearch. Now you should see your name up at the top of the screen. Always sign in and look for your name before you try to save anything for later. If you are not signed in, it may look like things are saving but they will only last for that current session and won't be there when you come back.

Now that you are signed in, you can save anything listed in your search results for later. To do this, click on the thumbtack icon next to a title that you want.

Once the item is added to your favorites, the thumbtack changes to have a slash through it. That means you can select the thumbtack again to remove the item from your saved favorites. You will also see the thumbtack appear to the right side of the screen along with an arrow pointing up. You can select that icon to bring you to your favorites list or select the arrow to move back to the top of the page.

To get to your favorites list, you can click on the thumbtack icon in the menu at the top of the screen or click on your name and choose "My Favorites" from the list. 

When viewing your favorites in OneSearch, you will see the option to search in My Favorites. You can also organize your list by giving them labels. To do this, select the article by clicking on the number next to the title. This will activate the option above to Add Labels. You will also see that selecting one or more items from your list opens up other options like removing selected items and the ... option. If you click on the ... you will see options to export, email, or print the selected items.

After you create a label, you will see it show up under the information for the article and also in the Labels list on the right side of the screen.

How to save for later in EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost is one of the vendors that we subscribe to our databases through. If you are using an EBSCOhost database, you will see that they all have a similar look. To save items to your folder in EBSCOhost databases, you will need to create your free account with them. Creating one EBSCOhost account will work across all EBSCOhost databases so you can save articles while searching in Academic Search Complete and also from CINAHL Plus and they will all show up in your one EBSCOhost account.

To Sign In to your EBSCOhost account, or to create your account, click Sign In at the top of the page.

To create your EBSCOhost account, click Sign Up. If you already have an account, you can login here. Remember, this is not the same as your SUNY Empire login and is not connected to your SUNY Empire login unless you choose to create it with the same login info you use at SUNY Empire.

On the registration page, you can create your username and password or connect it to your Google account if you have one and would like to login that way.

Once you are logged in, you should see that it now says Sign Out in the menu bar at the top of the page and your name should appear above that. You should also see that that it now shows "MY" above EBSCOhost in the center of the page above the search bar which means you are now signed into "My EBSCOhost." Remember, you have to be signed into your EBSCOhost account to save for later and have the items still be there when you come back another time.

.

If you aren't signed in, it will look like you are saving things to your folder but it will only last for that session. Viewing your folder during a session when you aren't signed in will tell you that you need to sign in to save your folder items. Since you won't see this warning unless you view your folder and it is easy to overlook it, it is best to create your EBSCOhost account and sign in immediately when using one of the databases from EBSCOhost.

Now that you are signed in, you can save items to your folder by clicking on the folder icon with a + sign on it to the right of the article information.

Once your item is saved to your folder, the folder will change color to yellow and it will look like there is a paper in the folder.

To view your folder items, select folder from the menu at the top of the screen and it will show you everything you have saved (as long as you were signed in when you saved it). Another nice thing about the EBSCOhost folder working in all of the databases from EBSCOhost, it will show them all here but you will see which database you found them in.

You can also use the menu options on the left to create folders to organize your folder items by clicking New next to My Custom. They are also all sorted by resource type so you are first looking at articles but if you saved something else, like an ebook, from EBSCOhost, it will show up in the column on the left if you click on eBooks.

How to Save for Later in Proquest

Proquest is another vendor that we subscribe to databases through. If you are using a Proquest database, you will see that they all have a similar look. To save items to your My Research folder in Proquest, you need to create your free account with them. Creating one Proquest account will work across all Proquest databases so you can save articles while searching in Proquest Education database and also from Criminal Justice Database and they will all show up in your one Proquest My Research account.

To Sign In to your Proquest My Research account, or to create your account, click the icon that looks like a person's silhouette on the top upper right menu. You will see the option to Sign into My Research or Create My Research Account.

To create your Proquest My Research account, click Create My Research Account. If you already have an account, click Sign Into My Research. Remember, this is not the same as your SUNY Empire login and is not connected to your SUNY Empire login unless you choose to create it with the same login info you use at SUNY Empire.

Once your account is created, you will get a welcome message confirming it was successful. To fully activate your account, you will need to verify your email address in the email they send you.

Once you sign in, you should see different options in the menu when you click on the silhouette icon. Always check here first to make sure you are signed into your My Research account before trying to save items for later or they may not be saved after the session you are in.

To save items for later after logging in, you can either check the box for multiple items in your search results list and Save to My Research all at once, or you can do the same thing individually using the icon that looks like a file cabinet drawer.

You can also save your searches in Proquest and they will show up later in your My Research account

When you click Save to My Research, a popup window will open to ask where you want to save the item(s) to. It will default to All Documents but you can also create folders to organize your articles.

After you have created folders, they will show up in the options for where to save your articles.

To view everything you have saved to My Research, you need to go back to the icon of the silhouette of a person. The folder icon in Proquest only shows you articles you have selected by checking the box next to them right now. Your saved articles go into your My Research account Saved documents instead.

When you go to Saved documents, you will see all the articles you have saved. You can also save searches in Proquest and they will show up here. You can create and organize articles into folders here too and you can sort them by date added or date published.

If you go to another Proquest database or come back another time or get logged out from your My Research account somehow, you won't see these options when you try to save. Instead, you will see the list of articles from your current session selected in the folder icon and when you click on the folder icon you will see those articles and an alert that you need to create an account or login to your account to save them for later. This is why it is best to always go right to the icon to sign in to your account as soon as you go into a database to make sure you don't lose anything you thought was saving to your account.

How to save for later in JSTOR

JSTOR is one more of the databases we subscribe to at the SUNY Empire online library. To save items for later in JSTOR, you need to create a free account with them. Remember, your SUNY Empire login only gives you access. The special features like saving for later are controlled by the database so you need an account with them to save for later.

In JSTOR, they call the account you save items to your Workspace. To create your JSTOR account, or to login to your account, you can either click on Workspace or click Register or Log in.

If you click Workspace, you will see the options to login or register for an account.

To create your account, you need to select Register from the main page for JSTOR or on the Workspace page. You can create your own login info or register with your Google account if you have one and choose to do so. Remember this is not connected to your SUNY Empire login information unless you choose to make it the same login information.

When you have an account and go to Sign In, make sure you either use the JSTOR login information that you create or your Google account to log in. Do you select Find My Institution, you should not need to do this. You already have access to JSTOR by using a link through the SUNY Empire library that proves you are a student here. Your JSTOR account will be your own personal account that you create.

Once you are logged into your JSTOR Workspace account, you should see your name at the top of the screen confirming that you are logged in.

To save articles to your JSTOR Workspace account, you can either select multiple articles by checking the box next to each article you want from your search results and then go up to the top and hit Save, or you can save them individually by hitting the Save button next to the article you want.

When you hit Save, it will ask you where to save the article(s) to. You can save them all directly into your Workspace account or create a folder to save them to.

After an article is saved to your Workspace, it will show up as Saved where the Save button is located. You may also briefly get a quick pop up that says the item was saved to your Workspace or to a selected folder in your Workspace account.

To see all the saved items in your Workspace account, you can click the link for Workspace or click on your name and select Workspace from the options there.

When you are in your Workspace account, you will see all of your saved items and any folders you created. You can sort your list alphabetically, by date added, by creator, or by publication date. You can create new folders to organize your saved items. You can change your view from list to gallery. The option to Export your list into a Reference list PDF doesn't work very reliably so I don't recommend using that to create your citations for an assignment. They are not formatted in APA, MLA, or Chicago style. It is just a list with clickable links.

A really nice feature of JSTOR Workspace is that you can add notes to each item you save by clicking Add Note below the title. Once your note is created, it will show up with the item and the Add Note button changes to Edit Note so you can add more or change your notes later.

How to save for later in Gale

Another database vendor that the library subscribes to in our collections is Gale. You will see that most Gale databases look pretty similar. In Gale, you can only save for later if you want to use your personal Google account or personal Microsoft account. The SUNY Empire provided Microsoft accounts for email and Office 365 do not work with Gale's option to Sign in with Microsoft because it requires an admin login that students, faculty, and even librarians do not have.

To use your personal Google account, if you want to, you will be saving articles to your own Google Drive. They will not be saved for later in Gale but you can find them in your own personal Google Drive account. Keep this in mind because it will use storage space in your Google account and PDF files are often larger files when it comes to storage space.

Knowing this, if you still want to save articles to your personal Google Drive, you can do so by Signing Into Your Google account while in a Gale database from the SUNY Empire online library.

When you go to sign into your Google account through Gale for the first time, you will have to give permission to Gale Cengage to connect to your account.

Once you Allow your account access, you can sign in using Google with one click from now on. When you are signed in, you will see your name at the top of the screen.

Now you can save articles to your Google Drive account by using the Google Drive icon shown on articles when you view them in Gale.

When you click on the Google Drive icon to save an article to your account, you will get a pop up that states it is saving to your Google Drive Account and will appear shortly.