Business, Management & Economics: Case Studies

A case study tells what happened to and in a business (or non-profit, or industry) over time. Case studies allow you to learn about real-world organizational problems and how they can be addressed. They challenge and develop your problem-solving abilities.

Cengage Learning provides advice on how to: 

• Analyze a case study
• Write a case study analysis

In general, case studies can be found in both scholarly and non-scholarly business journals, and also on the web sites of business consulting groups. This how-to will guide you in finding case studies using several of the SUNY Empire Online Library's databases.

Note that Harvard Business Review case studies are not available through the SUNY Empire Online Library. 

Finding Case Studies Using Business Source Complete

Access Business Source Complete:

1. Go to the Journal Articles tab of this guide.
2. Click Business Source Complete and log in with your SUNY Empire login and password.
   • Here is How To Use EBSCOhost Databases

To find case studies in Business Source Complete, click the Advanced Search link under the search box on the main page. Once you're in Advanced Search

1. Scroll down the page to Document Type, and select Case Study from the menu.
2. Scroll back up the page and enter your search terms.
   • Here is information about how to keyword search in databases.

Finding Case Studies Using Entrepreneurial Studies Source

Follow the instructions for Business Source Complete.

Finding Case Studies Using ProQuest Business

1. Go to the Journal Articles tab of this guide.
2. Click ProQuest Business and log in with your SUNY Empire login and password.
   • Here is How To Use ProQuest Databases

To find case studies in ProQuest Research Library, click the Advanced Search link under the search box on the main page. Once you're in Advanced Search

1. Scroll down the page to Document Type, and select Case Study from the menu.
2. Scroll back up the page and enter your search terms.
   • Here is information about how to keyword search in databases.

Finding Case Studies In Other Databases

Many other databases are listed on the Journal Articles tab of this subject guide. To find case studies in them, simply log in and search for your topic and "case study". For example:

• (non-profit OR nonprofit) AND "case study"
• ("social media" OR "web 2.0") AND "beverage industry" AND "case study"
• ("for-profit higher education" OR Kaplan OR "University of Phoenix") AND "case study"
• Here is more information about how to keyword search in databases.