Business Databases
- ABI/INFORM
Search local, national & international business, economic, management & company publications. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Business Source Complete
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles on business, management and economics. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Sage Journals
Scholarly articles in all subjects. Particularly good in business, biology/medicine, engineering, and the social sciences.
We do not have access to full-text for all Sage journals. Limit your search to "Only Content I Have Full Access To." You can also access “Open Access” content in Sage. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ScienceDirect
Full-text access to 248 journals. Please also check Google Scholar if you cannot find full-text in ScienceDirect. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ProQuest Research Library
Scholarly and popular articles in all subjects. This is a great place to start your research. SUNY Empire Login Required
Interlibrary Loan
SUNY Empire faculty, staff, and students can interlibrary loan articles and book chapters for electronic delivery only.
You can register and make requests on our Interlibrary Loan Page.
Medicine Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full-text
Scholarly articles on nursing and healthcare topics. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Health Care Innovations ExchangeReports and updates on developments in the technology, practice and business of health care. From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly articles in nursing and allied health. SUNY Empire Login Required
- MEDLINE with Full Text
Scholarly articles on medical and related topics. There are many ways to narrow your search down - species, gender, age group, type of clinical query, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- ScienceDirect
Full-text access to 248 journals. Please also check Google Scholar if you cannot find full-text in ScienceDirect. SUNY Empire Login Required
What are scholarly/peer reviewed articles?
In scholarly/peer reviewed articles:
- Author is an expert in the subject
- Content is evaluated by other experts before publication
- All information sources are cited
Some databases have all scholarly material. Others have an option to search for only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
To learn how to tell the difference between popular and scholarly articles by looking at them, see Anatomy of a Scholarly Article.
To learn how peer review works, see Peer Review in 5 Minutes.
Note that many nursing journals are not peer reviewed, but editorially reviewed (it's a slight procedural difference but has the same results.) They are still scholarly!
Need help with searching?
- Combine keywordsEntering your keywords by themselves is less effective than combining them with Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.) Here's how to do it.
- Identify KeywordsShows you how to come up with keywords to search in library databases, the e-book catalog, even Google.
- Citing Your Sources GuideInformation on how and when to cite your sources, plus links to free citation management tools.
![X](https://sunyempire.edu/media/images/home/2019/iconmonstr-twitter-3.png"){kind=small}
