Search all our text databases at once
Article databases
- Proquest Biological Science Database
Provides a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. SUNY Empire Login Required
- MEDLINE with Full Text
Scholarly articles on medical and related topics. There are many ways to narrow your search down - species, gender, age group, type of clinical query, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Bioline InternationalOpen Access scholarly articles from journals published in developing countries, having to do with biology and medicine. From the Reference Center on Environmental Information, Brazil.
- ScienceDirect
Full-text access to 248 journals. Please also check Google Scholar if you cannot find full-text in ScienceDirect. SUNY Empire Login Required
- JSTOR
Unlike most databases, JSTOR has plenty of content published before the 1990s, but it does not have full-text for the most recent 2-3 years. Articles in all subjects, but especially good for history, area studies, the arts and humanities, mathematics, environmental science, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- BioText Search EngineSearch 300+ Open Access Journals in the biosciences.
- NAL Catalog (aka AGRICOLA)Agriculture journal articles - no full-text in the database (but you can get the full-text elsewhere.) From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- POPLINEArticles in reproductive health. From the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID.)
- PrimateLitIndexes articles about the biology of primates. No full-text, but you may be able to find the full-text in other sources once you find a title here. From the National Institutes of Health (NIH.)
Biology and Life Science Organizations on the Web
- American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS)Umbrella organization for professional scientific organizations. Offers biomedical and scientific peer review, meetings, and educational programs.
Research Methods
- Introduction to BiostatisticsA review of some of the elementary principles of biostatistics in medicine. 57 min.
- Qualitative Methods in Health ResearchFrom: Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research, National Institutes of Health
- Social Research MethodsResources and links for applied social research and evaluation.
Statistical Resources
- CDC Data & StatisticsCenters for Disease Control and prevention portal for public health stats.
- National Center for Health StatisticsStatistics on health in the U.S. from the NIH.
- Statistics PrimerTutorial with 5 easy to follow units covering all aspects of working with statistics.
- MEDLINE Plus: Health StatisticsLinks to loads of health and medical statistical sources.
Your Librarian
