Search all our text databases at once

OneSearch

Advanced Search

Help with OneSearch

Article databases

Environment Complete
Articles on agriculture, energy, marine sciences, geography, urban planning & environmental science. SUNY Empire Login Required
GreenFile
Articles in environmental studies. SUNY Empire Login Required
Proquest Environmental Science Database
Provides articles in the subject areas of engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology. SUNY Empire Login Required
ScienceDirect
Full-text access to 248 journals. Please also check Google Scholar if you cannot find full-text in ScienceDirect. SUNY Empire Login Required
JSTOR
Unlike most databases, JSTOR has plenty of content published before the 1990s, but it does not have full-text for the most recent 2-3 years. Articles in all subjects, but especially good for history, area studies, the arts and humanities, mathematics, environmental science, etc. SUNY Empire Login Required
- Help creating a permalink in JSTOR
- Help using JSTOR
Bioline International
Open Access scholarly articles from journals published in developing countries, having to do with biology and medicine. From the Reference Center on Environmental Information, Brazil.

BioText Search Engine
Search 300+ Open Access Journals in the biosciences.
ECOLEX
information on environmental law: treaties, legislation, court decisions, literature
EPA Science Inventory
Searchable database of EPA science activities and scientific and technical products
NAL Catalog (aka AGRICOLA)
Agriculture journal articles - no full-text in the database (but you can get the full-text elsewhere.) From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
SciTech Connect
Reports on energy. From the U.S. Department of Energy.
Southern Research Station Publication Database
Research publications in forestry and forest science, including much full-text.

Selected Earth and Environmental Science Organizations on the Web

Selected Earth and Environmental Science Web Sites

The Carbon Cycle
from NASA Earth Observatory
Center for Biodiversity and Conservation
Environmental Justice Foundation
The human rights implications of environmental issues.
Geology.com
Global Change Master Directory
NASA directory of earth science data sets
Climate Basics
From the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions.
Google Earth
Download this tool to look at satellite photographs of the Earth's many different topographies and landforms. You can also explore the ocean, the surface of the Moon and Mars, and the stars. There are also climate plug-ins.
How to Look at a Rock
Great introduction to identifying rock specimens that you find.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
From the World Meteorological Organization and the United Nations Environment Programme.
Invasive.Org
Center for Invasive Species & Ecosystem Health, featuring images, articles, maps and videos.
NASA Earth Science Division
NASA Software Catalog
The NASA Software Catalog offers an extensive portfolio of software products for a wide variety of technical applications.
National Climatic Data Center
From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA.)
National Geophysical Data Center
From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA.)
National Oceanographic Data Center
From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA.)
National Weather Service Climate Prediction Center
PLANTS database
From the USDA National Agricultural Library. Identify plants, lichens and mosses from the United States and its territories.
Science Daily: Earth and Climate News
Science Daily: Plants and Animals News
Skeptical Science: Getting Skeptical about Global Warming Skepticism
An independent web site that attempts to debunk climate skepticism by referring to peer reviewed scientific sources.
Smithsonian Global Volcanism Program
Space and Earth News
Includes Earth Science, Environmental Science and Astronomy. From PhysOrg.org, a web-based science news aggregator.
United States Geological Survey
from their About section: the USGS "collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems. The diversity of our scientific expertise enables us to carry out large-scale, multi-disciplinary investigations and provide impartial scientific information to resource managers, planners, and other customers."
United States Global Change Research Program
Launched in 1990, they produce annual reports to the President and Congress as well as other publications on climate change.
US Fish and Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program
USGS Topographic Maps
The Water Cycle
from NASA Earth Observatory
World Weather Information Service
from the World Meteorological Organization

Research Methods

Social Research Methods
Resources and links for applied social research and evaluation.

Contact Us

Search our FAQ or fill out the contact form
Email your question.
Call 800-847-3000, ext. 2222
Text: 518-623-6321 (SMS only, no phone calls or images. Standard messaging rates apply.)

Science, Math & Technology: Earth & Environmental Sciences

Search all our text databases at once

OneSearch

Article databases

Selected Earth and Environmental Science Organizations on the Web

Selected Earth and Environmental Science Web Sites

Research Methods

Contact Us

SpringShare Privacy Policy