Liaison Librarian
Mon-Thu: 12 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Phone: 800-847-3000, ext. 2222.
or check our knowledgebase or submit a question via online form.
Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from Ask Us 24/7 are available to help when we aren't available. Please note:
If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability for library content needed for your coursework, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
Portfolio Assignment for Understanding Information Sources
This second component of your portfolio asks you to identify some "places" (databases, search engines, online repositories and archives, etc.) where you will look for information sources on your topic. (OneSearch does not count as one of these "places." You may use it, but you also need to have specific databases, etc. The reason for this is that sometimes you need a more "surgical" approach than OneSearch's "blunt instrument.")
You will find all of the Library's databases and other search tools on the Databases A - Z page. Also try our Subject Guides, which organize databases and other search tools, along with selected tutorials and web resources.
Your answer to each of these should include both the title and the URL of the resource you have chosen. You should also take some time to explore each resource and become familiar with its interface.
- An ebook collection in the SUNY Empire Library
- A multidisciplinary article database
- A subject-specific article database
- Another kind of database (newspaper, video, etc.)
- A web site that contains or links to multiple information sources. In other words, an online archive or repository, or even just a web site that has a collection of PDF reports.
Accessibility Note
Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Accessibility Resources and Services by emailing them. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
